Vanilla is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

• CommentAuthorNiro
    • CommentTimeDec 15th 2011
    Hi everybody,

I am a Software Engineering Student in Paris, France, and want to make an Android app for our beloved WTM. I post this publicly not as an affront to the WTM dev team but because I previously asked for an API to no avail and want you, the community, to put some weight behind this request.

I've created a proof of concept app that shows how a potential android app could look. I have made screenshots of my app, will explain how it works, and the apk is available at the bottom of the post. The flicker gallery is meant to be looked at like a screencast (movie) of me using the app (that's how it was taken). The interface is perfectly fluid, the screenshots don't do it justice, try the apk if you can.

Basically the app works in landscape mode, and displays a sort of "gallery" of WTM shots. Shots are swipable from left to right, swiping to the right brings new pictures, and the last picture on the left is kept in memory (sometimes an answer just "comes" to you right after, right :) ) . To submit a response, a long press on the picture will bring up a response menu that lets the user input text. Whether or not the response is correct is overlayed for 1 second as an Android Toast over the picture.

**Technical Part, if you are not interested, you can skip it**
    The app handles only 3 image frames in memory at any given point in time, so stays rather lightweight on its memory footprint. The "next shot" (on the right) is preloaded while the current one is examined, for UI speed purposes.
    Finally, the app is multithreaded, to ensure a small CPU footprint: getting the shot is done in a separate thread, as well as posting the response.
    **Technical par done. Wasn't too long right?**