Vanilla is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorZomBeeBob
    • CommentTimeMar 15th 2010
    This might be a stupid idea, but what the hell.

I'm not very good with languages, I know a little English, Swedish, Danish, German and my mother tongue Norwegian. But I would like to know a little bit of some other languages too, so my thought was that we could share some common (and not so common) sentences from our own languages. I know there is a lot of translators online, but they seem to make a mess of the grammar from time to time.

Some examples of stuff to translate:

Hello
    Goodbye
    How are you
    Whats your name
    My name is
    My favorite movie is
    Do you know where the nearest video store is

Theese are just some exampls and if you have some sentences that you feel foreigners should know ad them in.

I thought we could write it like:

English - Norwegian

Hello - God dag

What do you guys (and girls) think?
    •  
      CommentAuthorZomBeeBob
    • CommentTimeMar 15th 2010 edited
    Are you guys ready to learn some Norwegian :)

The Norwegian grammar is pretty much the same as the Englsih so the word-placement is (usually) in the same place.

English - Norwegian

Hello - God dag ("hallo" is an alternativ)
    Goodbye - Ha en god dag ("ha det bra" is a shorter alternativ)
    How are you - Hvordan står det til
    What's your name? - Hva heter du?
    My name is - Mitt navn er
    My favorite movie is - Min favorittfilm er
    Do you know where the nearest videostore is - Vet du hvor nærmeste videobutikk er
    Excuse me - Unnskyld meg
    How old are you - Hvor gammel er du
    Nice weather we have today - Pent vær vi har i dag
    This movie is awesome - Denne filmen er knallbra
    Excuse me, do you know where the bathroom is - Unnskyld, vet du hvor toalettet er
    This music is really loud, could you turn it down a little - Denne musikken er veldig høy, kan du skru ned litt